Afternoon Appetizer; My comfort zone

Screenshot_2015-11-03-13-37-48~2So encourage each other and build each other up, just as you are already doing. (1 Thessalonians 5:11 NLT)

Today, along with other days, I needed comforting. After taking a huge step of faith, uprooting my family to another state, I felt I had made the wrong decision.  Having no direction from God, but to go, I felt like Abraham.

After getting here, I find out that it’s no easy route to go, I just have to submit to God and His will. There are times when I feel I lost more things, and often thought that I had made the wrong decision. As I battle these thoughts and emotions, a lot of times I seek out comfort from people. BIG MISTAKE…

Our first comforter should be God. He will send people to comfort you appropriately.  We expect people to be sincere, honest and open.  However, they are imperfectly human. We as imperfect beings sometimes aren’t sensitive with our words. Although the message needs to be heard, do you believe that a person can miss that message if you don’t deliver it graciously?

Kind words are like honey sweet to the soul and healthy for the body. (Proverbs 16:24 NLT)

Let your conversation be gracious and attractive so that you will have the right response for everyone. (Colossians 4:6 NLT)

I sat and I pondered this thought. Several questions came to mind.  Have I always been encouraging and uplifting?  Has my words/advice been always full of grace?  When someone comes to me, do I just spit out whatever comes to mind?  Never mind their current emotional state.

Don’t be misled you cannot mock the justice of God. You will always harvest what you plant. (Galatians 6:7 NLT)

Yes, I will admit I have been this way. So while the words I received weren’t comforting, I haven’t been a comforter. It is very important to remember that what you don’t like about others is a direct reflection of yourself.  I thank God that I learned the comforter lesson today.  I want to urge you all to go to God first for comfort and trust that if need be he will send you someone who will comfort you appropriately.  You must also remember to be the one you are looking for in everybody, because you are getting from people what you put out.

Leave a Reply

